Kenya withdraws unpopular entry fee for Mozambique

Quénia retira taxa de entrada impopular para Moçambique

Kenya has exempted passport holders from Mozambique and six other countries from paying an unpopular entry fee introduced last month.

The government eliminated visa requirements for all foreign passport holders last month.

The move was seen as an attempt to promote Kenya as a tourist destination and to attract business travelers.

But an entry fee of US$ 30 has been introduced, even for some visitors who previously didn't need a visa.

The decision caused a huge backlash, with critics claiming that it could lead countries with which Kenya has visa-free agreements to introduce a similar fee, making travel more expensive and bureaucratic.

Only travelers from the East African Community (EAC) regional bloc were exempt from paying the money.

In addition to Mozambique, the exemption has been extended to passport holders from five other African states - Ethiopia, Eritrea, Congo-Brazzaville, Comoros and South Africa.

San Marino, the third smallest country in Europe, is the only other country on the exemption list.

A memo from Kenya's interior ministry and immigration department states that the exempted countries have concluded "visa abolition agreements or signed bilateral visa waiver agreements" with the East African state.

However, travelers from these countries will still need to obtain an electronic travel authorization (ETA) document in advance to enter Kenya and submit information such as flight details and proof of accommodation.

The ETA is for single entry and is valid for 90 days.

(Source: BBC)

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.