FIFA adopts new Club World Cup model

FIFA adopta novo modelo de Mundial de Clubes

The International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) unanimously approved, this Monday, in Kigali, Rwanda, the format of the new Club World Cup, which will be held starting in 2025.

"The FIFA Council unanimously approved the fundamental principles of access with the aim of ensuring the highest possible quality based on sporting criteria," the statement issued by world soccer's governing body reads.

The tournament has 32 teams and, in this first edition, will include the champion teams in the seasons ending between 2021 and 2024.

The competition will include 12 European teams, six from South America, four from Asia, Africa, North, Central America, and the Caribbean, one from Oceania, and one from the host country.

The champions of the 2021 to 2024 editions will be guaranteed a place in the tournament, as will the Champions League winners - Chelsea and Real Madrid are already assured - with the remaining eight UEFA slots to be filled according to the respective continental ranking for that quadrennium.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.